Tuesday March 19th 2019
Home : Site Map


    Like us on Facebook!  Follow Us on Twitter! 


Winkler/Martin Memorial Award

Established by the MVMAA Board of Trustees in 1988, the Winkler Award is named in memory of Ralph H. Winkler, MVMAA President in 1983.  This award is presented annually to a person or organization that has served the Miami Valley Military Affairs Association in an exceptional way.

Ralph was a guiding influence when the MVMAA began in 1980.  In keeping with Ralph’s vision, determination and spirit of teamwork, this achievement is given each year to someone who works hard – someone who puts the goals of the organization ahead of any personal considerations – someone who is selfless, someone dedicated.

A light went out on the MVMAA Board of Directors with the passing of our past president Joe Martin in January 2009.  Joe was a long time member of the Board and the Fairborn Chamber representative forever!  His loss will be deeply felt not only by the Board, but by the Miami Valley and Wright Patterson communities as well.  Not only did Joe and his wife Sonia give financially, but their volunteerism cannot be replicated.  There was never an event or situation where Joe was not involved, or provided a bit of humor in everything he did.  He became known as “Uncle Joe” to all who knew him.  He was awarded accolades for his caring and giving ways and was humbled by each award.  He never sought the spotlight, but he was the light that made so many events shine.

To commemorate his dedication, the MVMAA Board has chosen to rename our most prestigious award to the Winkler/Martin Award.  This award honors someone who has given unselfishly of themselves in their support of the MVMAA and the military community as well.  Joe was a recipient of the award in 2007.  May his memory last forever and his enthusiasm continue in each and every one of us.

Congratulations to the 2017 Recipient:
Steve Goeman

Previous awards recipients were:

2016 Ron Derksen
2015 Angel Lewis
2014 Bill Richard
2013 Jerry Pfeifer
2012 Ralph Anderson
2011 The 445th Airlift Wing
2010 Woody Stroud
2009 - Shiela Wallace
2008 -
Berman Layer
2007 -
Joe Martin (dec'd)
2006 -
Dale Grimes
2005 -
Mike Turner
2004 -

Carl Day
Maj. General Ed Mechenbier (Ret)

2003 -
Patricia Tilton
2002 -
Teresa Lacy
Earl Bowen
2000 -
Vern Schaefer
1999 -
Maj John McCance
1998 -
Candy Prystaloski
1997 -
Jack Huelsman (dec'd)
1996 -
Margaret Ritter
1995 -
Bob Chiles
1994 -
Jennifer Wedekind
1993 -
Jeanne Eickman
1992 -
Evelyn Ferguson
1991 -
Emma Sheridan
1990 -
Vince Chalecki
1989 -
Nancy Lanier

The name of the award recipient is kept secret each year until announced by the MVMAA President during the annual membership dinner. The plaque is inscribed with the words:

"For Service Above and Beyond..."

Return to top

Back to MVMAA

Miami Valley Military Affairs Association © 2019
P.O. Box 33633
Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio 45433-0633

Email Contact: mvmaa@mvmaa.org
Web Maintenance:  www.cmdtechnologies.com